Smalltalk is primarily used by blue chip professionals

February 7, 2009

Few days ago I’ve posted a question on Stack Overflow and it went ballistic. Few thousands views and two dozen answers later I’ve got my answer: Smalltalk is still in heavy use today, primarily by professionals in various businesses. Ranging from transport logistic (OOCL’s IRIS-2) and financial services (JPMorgan’s Kapital) to web professionals using either Aida/Web or Seaside web frameworks for developing complex web applications.

While some answers exposed difficulties when using Smalltalk, most of them were void after some explanations. Smalltalk was presented as right choice for demanding and complex environments where high flexibility, robustness and speed of development are main requirements.

I encourage you to read all answers and consider Smalltalk as a possible solution for your next projects. 

Thanks to all who answered my question.

2 Responses to “Smalltalk is primarily used by blue chip professionals”


  1. You’ll definitely want to check the http://planet.smalltalk.org/ feed for the various blogs that talk about Smalltalk on a daily basis, including my own blog at http://MethodsAndMessages.vox.com/. In fact, I’ve linked from there to here, having noticed your Stack Overflow question yesterday.

  2. damirhorvat Says:

    I’ve notice the links, thanks. I like seeing Smalltalk gaining some attention.


Leave a comment